John Iason Coach's Award

Beginning in 2014 the Cardinals began to honor a dear friend and volunteer of the Cardinals Program, John Iason.  Sadly John passed away in 2013.

The John Iason Coach's Award is not necessarily given to the MVP or best player on the team.  Rather, it is meant to be given to the player that best represents some of John’s core values: hard work, humility, helping others, integrity, leadership and a general love for the game of lacrosse.

Below is John and his lacrosse buddies at UNC circa 1960's (John is squatting on the right).

Below is John in 2010 with an early Cardinals team.

2021 Award Winners

Girls (team and names being identified)


Boys (picture in process)


2020 Season canceled due to Covid-19

2019 Award Winners

Names being identified.

2018 Award Winners

 Girls 3-4/10U - Julia Baddour  *  Girls 5-8/14U - Grace Costa

Boys 3-4/10U - James Flanagan  *  Boys 5-6/12U - Kepa Maetani  *  Boys MS/14U - Charlie Carmouche

2017 Award Winners

OOPS!  PHOTOS AND NAMES TO BE ADDED SOON!  3-4  -    *   5-6 Team -    *   MS Team - 

2016 Award Winners

 3-4 - Ryan Chieffi   *   5-6 Team - Hank Tusznyski   *   MS - Andrew Walden


 2015 Award Winners

3-4 - Charlie Green   *   5-6 - Troy Arnold   *   MS - Lars Hoeg


 2014 Award Winners

3-4 - Ethan Green   *   5-6 - William Lake   *   MS - Riley Koch

(Ethan Green below with Coach Zach)